life as pen knows it

drop in and see what's happening on Planet Family

rosemary

2 Comments

We’ve been getting the most delicious herbs in our weekly Food Connect box lately.

Last week we had a rich green dense bunch of rosemary – one of my favourite herbs. I don’t have any luck growing it (I MUST try again) so I’m always pinching it from friends.

 I chopped some and put it in a bowl with garlic and olive oil. I use it to make one of our favourite pizzas. I spread a generous amount over the uncooked pizza base, add slices of potato (boiled whole, sliced when cool), sprinkle over a small amount of cheese. We use parmesan or cubed marinated fetta. Delicious.

 Or I use 2-3 tablespoons as the topping for baking focaccia. Or add it into pasta sauces or mashed potato.

 But my favourite are these biscuits. The recipe is in Petrea King’s “Food for Life” cookbook. You can buy it here.

 Rosemary or Lavender Biscuits

 125g unsalted butter

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 egg

¾ cup SR flour

½ cup plain flour

2 tspns custard powder (I leave this out)

1-2 tspns fresh rosemary leaves, finely chopped or dried lavender  (check there’s no addititives), removed from stem, chopped

 Place butter and sugar in food processor or Thermomix, blend until creamy. Add the egg and pulse until combined. Add the SR and plain flours and custard powder and rosemary or lavender and pulse until combined (Thermomix users can do as dough for 30-40 seconds). Place in fridge for 30mins.

 Preheat oven to 200. Form mixture into small balls, about 2 tspns mixture, and place on lined baking tray. Press down with fork to form a biscuit. Bake for 12-15mins or until golden.

 Leave to cool on the tray – if you can resist eating them warm – and store in airtight container or freeze for later.

2 thoughts on “rosemary

  1. I recently had Rosemary cake at a friend’s house – was yummy to my surprise. We’ve got a big healthy bush of rosemary at our place (left side of our front path) – so help yourself any time! We do very little with our garden as you know so maybe it’s the soil?

  2. I don’t have much luck growing rosemary either.
    Although, I keep hearing how easy it is to grow!

Leave a Reply

