life as pen knows it

drop in and see what's happening on Planet Family

haste

4 Comments

how can i slow down? i mean really  s  l  o  w    d o  w  n   on  a daily – i mean hourly – basis?

i seem to spend most of my morning, afternoon and evening chanting the same mantra to my family. “come on, hurry up”, “let’s just eat”, “let’s talk about this later when i’m not driving”, “put your shoes on”, “where’s your hat”, “come on, teeth time” – you get the picture.

i need to nag without the nagging – any thoughts?

i’m watching the clock constantly, measuring out my time so that i don’t miss something i need to do. i hate being late, so even though i allow enough time, i seem to be running 10mins late for everything.

This has come down hard on me today with a speeding fine in the post. $200 and 3 points off my license for traveling too fast coming into Clunes (northern NSW town) on my way to Lismore last week. A road i have travelled literally hundreds of times. I had been rushing since i got up at 6am, culminating in driving fast and jerkily around the windy road that leads to my sister’s house, and sasha vomiting on herself in the back seat. my fault for rushing; the guilt and the mess to clean up was equally as grim. thank god my sister came to the rescue with buckets, towels, spare clothes and then she proceeded to wash and dry everything for me.

every night i promise myself that tomorrow will be different, i will not stress about time, i will allow extra time (i already get up soooo early to get it all done), i will not stress about the small stuff. Every evening finds me making the same promise for the next day.

family life – i need a good “how-to” book. Do you have one to recommend?

4 thoughts on “haste

  1. Darling it is just the way it is with littlies and a busy life. My goal is always just 1 major event a day so that i can get in and out and off to the venue without having a nervous breakdown on the way. when I notice that I am heading off into the higher scale of stress then I either blow it- my top that is- or think a bit as to whether it is my fault or theirs and breathe. then i can discuss that i am feeling-….. because…… how do we make mummy feel better next time?…… so that we can all realise the impact we have on each other. But generally I just yell, that makes me feel good too.xx

    • thanks for your words elissa. i am trying not to yell – at anyone – and i need to develop some techniques for cooling down in tense situations. and yes we have a quite a few discussions of “how can we do this happily next time”. and of course a big bowl of chilli tempeh noodles with a pile of bok choy on top is helping right now too 🙂

  2. yikes! Sounds like life is super busy.

    I think they make a fair bit from those 24hr cameras.

    I don’t think getting up earlier will help as you will just be more tired & therefore that little bit closer to ‘losing it’ with kids/partner/shopkeepers who look at you funny (based on my experiences anyway!) Is there any way you can drop a few things to not have as much on. I recently gave up on feeling I HAD to go to playgroup every week (I’m on the committee & felt I really needed to turn up). At first I felt guilty but now I enjoy it more when we do go as I’m not there after a super stressful get-ready-get-going.

    Also we have stopped committing to as much on the weekends, just more time chilling & catching up on chores for the week ahead, very boring at first but now we get a bit more family quality time.

    All of that said my kids aren’t at school yet so we can be more flexible in terms of needing to be places on time.

    Hope you catch your breath this weekend.

  3. catching my breath now that it is school holidays. oh and greg has taken kids and scooters out for a few hours. so i will make lunch, start dinner, finish a few bits of sewing, check email, and have a cuppa in the sun. not a bad morning.

    i am letting some things sl i i i i de by and life is becoming much calmer. thanks for everyone’s words of wisdom and empathy!

    p

Leave a Reply

